fisik@net lihat situs sponsor
        ISSN 2086-5325 Senin, 16 Desember 2019  


  » Penghargaan
  » Cara link
  » Mengenai kami
  Forum informasi pengumuman :

pengumuman berita dana beasiswa lowongan teknis

Tanggapan atas pesan yang sedang dibaca bisa dilakukan melalui sarana pengiriman pesan yang ada di bagian bawah.

» Lihat daftar pesan di forum informasi pengumuman
» Tulis pesan baru di forum informasi pengumuman


    Nobel prize in physics 2003
    Oleh : J. Rufinus
    Rabu, 8 Oktober 2003 (07:20 WIB) dari IP

    The 2003 Nobel prize in physics has been awarded today to:

    Alexei A. Abrikosov (Russia and USA, born 1928, now at Argonne
    National Laboratory, IL, USA)
    Vitaly L. Ginzburg (Russia, born 1916, P.N. Lebedev Physical
    Institute, Russia)
    Anthony J. Leggett (UK and USA, born 1938, now at University of
    Illinois, IL, USA)

    "for pioneering contributions to the theory of superconductors
    and superfluids"

    Press Release: The 2003 Nobel Prize in Physics
    Oleh : Nobel Foundation
    Rabu, 8 Oktober 2003 (10:31 WIB) dari IP

    Press Release: The 2003 Nobel Prize in Physics

    7 October 2003

    The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2003 "for pioneering contributions to the theory of superconductors and superfluids" jointly to

    Alexei A. Abrikosov
    Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Illinois, USA,

    Vitaly L. Ginzburg
    P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow, Russia, and

    Anthony J. Leggett
    University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois, USA.

    Flow without resistance

    This year's Nobel Prize in Physics is awarded to three physicists who have made decisive contributions concerning two phenomena in quantum physics: superconductivity and superfluidity. Superconducting material is used, for example, in magnetic resonance imaging for medical examinations and particle accelerators in physics. Knowledge about superfluid liquids can give us deeper insight into the ways in which matter behaves in its lowest and most ordered state.

    At low temperatures (a few degrees above absolute zero) certain metals allow an electric current to pass without resistance. Such superconducting materials also have the property of being able to displace magnetic flows completely or partly. Those that displace magnetic flows completely are called type-I superconductors and a theory explaining them was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1972. This theory, which is based on the fact that pairs of electrons are formed proved, however, to be inadequate for explaining superconductivity in the technically most important materials. These type-II superconductors allow superconductivity and magnetism to exist at the same time and remain superconductive in high magnetic fields. Alexei Abrikosov succeeded in explaining this phenomenon theoretically. His starting point was a theory that had been formulated for type-I superconductors by Vitaly Ginzburg and others, but which proved to be so comprehensive that it was also valid for the new type. Although these theories were formulated in the 1950s, they have gained renewed importance in the rapid development of materials with completely new properties. Materials can now be made superconductive at increasingly high temperatures and strong magnetic fields.

    Liquid helium can become superfluid, that is, its viscosity vanishes at low temperatures. Atoms of the rare isotope 3He have to form pairs analogous with pairs of electrons in metallic superconductors. The decisive theory explaining how the atoms interact and are ordered in the superfluid state was formulated in the 1970s by Anthony Leggett. Recent studies show how this order passes into chaos or turbulence, which is one of the unsolved problems of classical physics.

    Read more about this year's prize

    Alexei A. Abrikosov, born 1928 (75 years) in Moscow, the former Soviet Union, American (and Russian) citizen. Doctor's degree in physics in 1951 at the Institute for Physical Problems, Moscow. Distinguished Argonne Scientist, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Illinois, USA.

    Vitaly L. Ginzburg, born 1916 (87 years) in Moscow, Russia (Russian citizen). Doctor's degree in physics at the University of Moscow. Former Head of the Theory Group at the P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow, Russia.

    Anthony J. Leggett, born 1938 (65 years) in London, England (British and American citizen). Doctor's degree in physics in 1964 at the University of Oxford. MacArthur Professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA.

    Prize amount: SEK 10 million, will be shared equally among the Laureates.

    Contact persons: Jonas Förare, Science Editor, phone +46 8 673 95 44, +46 703 27 72 00, and Eva Krutmeijer, Head of Information, phone +46 8 673 95 95, +46 709 84 66 38,


    PERHATIAN : Semua data terminal yang mengakses otomatis dicatat sebagai arsip serta untuk kenyamanan bersama.

    judul :
    penulis : username :     password :
    isi :

    » kirim ke teman
    » versi cetak
    » berbagi ke Facebook
    » berbagi ke Twitter
    » markah halaman ini


    PERHATIAN : fisik@net berusaha memberikan informasi seakurat mungkin, namun tidak bisa menjamin tidak terjadi kesalahan baik disengaja maupun tidak. Segala akibat dari pemakaian sarana ini merupakan tanggung-jawab pemakai !
    - sejak 17 Agustus 2000 -
      Dikelola oleh TGJ LIPI Hak Cipta © 2000-2019 LIPI